Adrienne O'Brien LMT
1 min readDec 30, 2021

--

That is actually a tough one to answer! Tipping for massage isn't as straightforward as it is in say restaurants. I would say it depends on the setting. Many spas where tipping is customary often have their recommended percentages posted. When I worked front desk at a spa before I did massage, we verbally recommended 20% as people were checking out. This was at a bougie ski resort spa in Colorado. Where I'm at now, I rent a room at a chiropractic clinic and run my own business, usually seeing people for specific issues or injuries, so I don't get tipped too often, but if I do, it's anywhere from 10-20% (usually closer to 10%). My husband, who works with me some as well as at another business where pretty much every client tips, says he averages $10 for every half hour. You can always ask your therapist, if they get tipped, they can give you a percentage range of what they average. I hope this helps!

--

--

Adrienne O'Brien LMT

Massage Therapist & Entrepreneur. I help you learn about muscles, mind, and movement. | www.revivified.co | Substack: revivifiedco.substack.com IG: RevivifiedCo